THE MULTI MILLION DOLLAR SPECTACLE OF LIES

20140129-101831 am.jpg

Watching the ‪#‎Grammys‬ on Sunday taught me one thing..let go of illusions of awards show. Just stop and think about it for a minute…the show is not really about who does the best work, its really a money making extravaganza aimed at promoting its own shallow ideals. We all love music so its easy for us to get caught up in the hype. And so it is with ‘most of these “awards” show. They really mean nothing to the industry it claims to be saluting. The epiphany came to me when a conservative friend of mine on FB said to me..” Why are you watching these shallow people? You know the music you like, you don’t need anyones validation ” his comments hit a spark. He was correct. I am allowing these people to validate my own perception of what I consider good music. So I switched the channel and I can say with all confidence no more awards show for me, no contests, no ‪#‎Oscars‬, no more shallow musing. My epiphany was made more clearer today when another friend posted this quote….

“The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs in the gutter. There’s also a negative side.”……….Hunter S. Thompson

Friends nothing is more liberating than finding your own truth.

Leave a Reply

