DRUGS IN SPORTS- Take my Skin, not my Blood

DRUGS IN SPORTS- Take my Skin, not my Blood

Journalist Michael Grant has written an interesting piece on the global reaction and effect the latest doping news has on Jamaica’s reputation and the sports. I wrote my comments to his piece. I open the discussion to hear your point of view as well.

My Response…..

Good angle the writer has chosen . Fair enough we must await the results of the investigation before rushing to  judgement which is a constant human flaw. Seems to me that athletes are by nature prisoners in their sports as the list of items they CANNOT ingest gets bigger every day.

Question is what role is  WADA playing to educate and help the athletes as this writer fairly ask? Playing the gotcha game seems to me more of a gestapo organization than one that works with the athletes. So what is the WADA  charter? Is it to KILL or PROTECT? They will tell you they protect and play its role in educating the athlete. Have you seen the banned list of substances? If these athletes fall sick, they had  better pray or fast.

My belief is this – sure WADA is there to ‘protect’ the image of the sport especially since the East Germans and the US have shown it necessary to do so. But make no mistake its not clean as a whistle as one would hope it to be. Why? Because it is set up by the very people whose long term goal is to garner fame for their country while killing any one that challenges the status quo. Jamaica has dared to challenge the status quo so it is not surprising the reaction from WADA and other doubting Thomas’s.

The line that defines what is legal and what isn’t is as vast as the differences of people that make up WADA. The athletes will be best served if one of their own is directing that agency because when there is an infraction at least WADA won’t take their blood and skin, only their skin.

What are your thoughts on WADA and drugs in sports?

One thought on “DRUGS IN SPORTS- Take my Skin, not my Blood

  1. Pingback: Drugs in Sports – THE TAIL WAGGING THE DOG | beyondentertainmentblog

Leave a Reply

