Tribute to JOE

My very very good friend Joe passed away and was buried last week, I thought I would post my tribute to him. He was a very dear friend.
Paul
Image
I lost a friend today. Not some ordinary friend but someone I have known, shared, laughed, joked, talked, confided for over 25 years. No matter how long between our last talk with each other it was as if we started where we left off. Pat & Joe, those 2 words just flowed from your lips when you are talking about Joe because there was no Joe without Pat. Married for over 50 years the 2 were inseparable and yet they were two different people, Pat the more demure and reserved and Joe the mouth piece, the leader, the joker, the planner, the organizer, the friend. There was always laughter when Joe was around. Every morning we met for breakfast, then lunch, then at 6pm pino grigio then dinner then Joe would say ok Paul I am going to bed and that was the end of the day. The next day it was all over again. Joe gave you his all, his undivided attention when he was with you. You never felt out of place. If he was meeting you for the first time it was a warm, open, gentle yet humorous hug. Joe was part of the management team at the Resort. He did all the orientation to those guests who were new, he was the biggest advertisement for the hotel because he believed in Sandals. Joe was a FRIEND, not some ordinary friend, but someone whose understanding and virtue we can equally confide, and whose opinion we can value at once for its justness and its sincerity. Joe was no ordinary friend but one that freely, advises justly, assists readily, adventures boldly, takes all patiently, defends courageously, and continues a friend unchangeably. Joe was my friend. a true friend. Tonight as I reflected on his life and the meaning of his life in my life the famous Beatles song The Long And Winding road just keep popping in my head. Joe may be gone but he will never disappear from the hearts and memory of those who loved him. His memory will never be washed away. His road , his life will always lead us to his door. His door of love will always be with us. I will never forget Joe, how can I? How can I forget the person who refuses to be affected by my silence, refuses to be alone when i am not there , who shares his family with me like I was one of his own…no I can never forget Joe and I thank you Lord for leading Joe and Pat in my life. Joe never left me standing on the long and winding road. Happy is the man who finds a true friend, and far happier is he who finds that true friend in his wife. Today I am sad but I am also a happy man. happy to know that Joe has gone to a place where he will feel no more pain. I am happy to know Pat his wonderful and beautiful wife. I am happy to know his beautiful daughter Maureen, his grand children ans yes his great grand . Thank you Joe. Worry not about Pat . As long as there is breath Pat will never be alone. The long and winding road that leads to your door will never disappear. Nothing but heaven itself is better than a friend who is really a friend.

Farewell Joe…Rest In Peace.

Leave a Reply

