The Best Committee- the committee of Sleep

I get inspirational quotes daily and the one I received today was this. “It is a common experience that a problem difficult at night is resolved in the morning after the committee of sleep has worked on it.”– John Steinbeck

When I read the quote I smiled and said to myself ..opps my secret has come out . I have the same committee and they are the best committee that I have ever worked with. In general I hate committees. It’s a bunch of people who gives an excuse for working on a project and really the only person that works is the one with the idea . Committees are a waste of time especially if consisted of a lot of ‘talkers’ and not ‘doers’.

So I tackle my problems alone and especially when they are entertainment related I look at all the problems that will come up for the event and just let it flow. This usually happens when you have special events and you check the history of the  events and you need to plan a similar event for the current year. My rule of thumb is never to repeat myself so I always put myself under due stress of coming up with new ideas to an event that I did just 12 months earlier. But I want  something new-like a transfusion of new blood to give the event new life , after all its a new year. So I call my committee for a meeting and go to sleep.  I keep thinking about it but I turn it over to my committee of sleep to take care of the details. And wouldn’t you know it the next day the problems just seem to automatically disappear and I start to flow.

My committee has never disappointed me as it always delivers. Somehow the committee tackles all the problems and delivers a step by step analysis of how to tackle these circumstances. That is my secret to the many events that I have planned that others wonder how did I come up with that idea. Its simple – my secret is my committee, the committee of sleep. The only committee that does what it says and get the job done.

How about you. Do you have a similar committee? Would love to hear your opinion.

Leave a Reply

